Nasewaupee Residents Support Expanding City Council to Five Members

Nasewaupee is the third-largest municipality in Door County by population, but it has only three members on its city council, which is smaller than most city councils in the county which have smaller populations.

An effort is currently underway to add two city overseers to the board. At last month’s annual town meeting, Nasewaupee residents supported a non-binding motion to expand the council to five members. The motion passed by a show of hands with 25 people voting in favour, according to the minutes of the meeting.

For the council to expand to five members, Nasewaupee City Clerk Jill Lau said the council would have to pass an ordinance and that there was plenty of time this year to do so and for the two seats of additional supervisors be included in the spring 2023 ballot.

The two-year terms of the city president and the two current supervisors also expire next spring and will appear on the ballot.

David Allen, a Nasewaupee resident who supported the motion, said adding two additional supervisors would provide greater diversity of time and energy on the council.

He said that now constitutes a quorum for the three-person council when two members are present, and that it is possible to violate the state’s open meeting law if two council members meet for any purpose. other than a noted meeting. Allen said having five members would allow more people to sit on the board and also make it easier to manage a vacancy.

According to Door County’s 2020 census figures, Nasewaupee’s population of 2,119 is the third highest, behind only the city of Sevastopol (2,742) and the city of Sturgeon Bay (9,542). Sevastopol has a five-member council with four supervisors and a city president, while the city is governed by a mayor and seven council members.

Towns in the county with populations smaller than Nasewaupee and governed by a five-member council also consisting of a town chairman and four supervisors include Baileys Harbor, Egg Harbor, Gardner, Gibraltar, Liberty Grove, and Washington.

The county’s four villages—Egg Harbor, Ephraim, Forestville, and Sister Bay—have a smaller population than Nasewaupee and also have five-member councils consisting of a village chairman and four trustees.

Allen said it was time for Nasewaupee’s board to “join the rest of the world” and grow to five members.

Since the town has a population of less than 2,500, the motion presented at the annual meeting was advisory, and it is up to the board of directors to approve the expansion to five members, as required by law. ‘State.

Nasewaupee Town President Steve Sullivan said he expects the request to expand the council to five members will be on the agenda for the next council meeting on May 19.

Sullivan said he doesn’t have a preference at this point about whether the board should add two supervisors or stay with the current three members, but he said one of the concerns he has with a board of five members was to get city residents to run for office. , considering the undisputed runs Nasewaupee has had in the past.

South Gate Fire Department Update

Sullivan said the May 19 council meeting will also include consideration of what Nasewaupee should do going forward on fire protection after residents at last month’s annual town hall meeting urged the council to withdraw from the South Gate Fire Department (SDFD) and instead form the city’s own department.

At the May 2 board meeting, Sullivan said the board had selected the Manitowoc County-based law firm West & Dunn to provide the city with legal advice, should it decide to leave the city. SDFD.

The SDFD includes the village of Forestville and the towns of Nasewaupee, Clay Banks and Forestville, with each municipality having two members on the eight-person fire council that oversees the department.

The SDFD is funded by an equalized value-based tax levy, with Nasewaupee covering over two-thirds of the department’s budget.

Sullivan suggested changes to reduce city funding and increase its representation on the fire board as alternatives to leaving the SDFD.

Comments are closed.